Vuelta a Murcia 2012

Movistar Vuelta a Murcia 2012

Qiuntana Keeps Yellow Jersey!

Stage: 2 – Murcia ITT, 11.00 km

Movistar’s Nairo Quintana finished 32 seconds behind both Alexander Serov and Jonathan Castroviejo, who was denied the stage win by only a slim margin  of .55 seconds to take the overall yellow leaders jersey in the Vuelta Murcia 2012. Movistar won the overall teams classification and Jonathan Castroviejo close finish awarded him the overall points jersey for an incredible 2 days of cycling in Spain for Movistar!

Stage 2 ITT results:
1st Serov (RVL) 13.46
2nd Jonathan Castroviejo m.t.
26th Sergio Pardilla 0.31
27th Nairo Quintana 0.32
28th Rubén Plaza 0.33
30th Jesús Herrada 0.37
34th Vladimir Karpets 0.38
48th Juanjo Cobo 0.54
Final Vuelta Murcia Standings: 1st Nairo Quintana 5.06.10
4th Sergio Pardilla 0.15
5th Jonathan Castroviejo 0.21
12th Vladimir Karpets 1.53
18th Jesús Herrada 2.42
50th Rubén Plaza 5.44
58th Juanjo Cobo 6.59

Green Points Jersey  1 Jonathan Castroviejo (Spa) 28
2 Nairo Quintana (Col) 25
8 Sergio Pardilla (Spa) 14
3 Alexander Serov (Rus) RusVelo 25
25 Vladimir Karpets (Rus) 1
Teams classification
1 Movistar Team 15:19:06
2 Vacansoleil-DCM 0:00:55
3 Endura Racing 0:02:43
4 Team NetApp 0:05:09
5 Caja Rural 0:06:0

Quintana takes stage 1

Stage 1: Balneario de Archena – Sierra de Espuña 198.2km
Nairo Quintana wins Vuelta Murcia 2012

Movistar won their 4th race today when Nairo Quintana  kept up and overtook the stage leader Tiernan-Locke in the the Cat 1 Alto del Collado Bermejo. Quintana combed alone for the solo stage win and a 14 second lead headed into the final time trial stage tomorrow.

“I came really focused to this Vuelta a Murcia,” Quintana said at the finish.“I knew that, despite the last descent, this was a stage suiting me really well, and that’s why I rode really concentrated to my objective. The team left me in perfect position before the climb, Tiernan-Locke attacked really hard at the foot and I went for him. He pushed hard all climb and tried to drop me like he did in Haut Var, but I stood his pace and made my attack with 1.5k from the summit.

Movistar took the overall lead with strong finishes by Jose Pardilla, Jonathan Castroviejo, veteran rider Vladimir Karpets and  Jesus Herrada.

Vuelta a Murcia 2012 stage one results: 1 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 4:51:52
2 Wout Poels (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM 0:00:14
3 Jonathan Tiernan-Locke (GBr) Endura R 0:00:16
4 Sergio Pardilla (Spa) Movistar Team
5 Samuel Sanchez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:00:26
8 Jonathan Castroviejo (Spa) Movistar 0:00:53
15 Vladimir Karpets (Rus) Movistar Team 0:01:47
21 Jesus Herrada (Spa) Movistar Team 0:02:37
55 Ruben Plaza (Spa) Movistar Team 0:05:43
59 Juan Jose Cobo (Spa) Movistar Team 0:06:37
1 Movistar Team 14:36:45
2 Vacansoleil-Dcm Pro Cycling Team 0:00:35
3 Endura Racing 0:02:43
4 Caja Rural 0:03:51
5 Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:04:49

Movistar will continue their success in the The Vuelta Ciclista a Murcia 2012 which will be held in Murcia, Spain. This years Vuelta Ciclista a Murcia will be shorten to 2 stages from 5 due to lack of sponsors. never the less, top cyclist will participate in the southeastern spanish event, which was only open to amateurs during the first 4 years, were Pedro Delgado won the inaugural race. in 2010, all Italian teams were banned because their federation prevented Valverde from racing in Italy.
Stage: 1 – 3 March : Archena – Sierra de Espuña, ??? km
Stage: 2 – 4 March : Murcia ITT, 11.00 km

Vuelta a Murcia Valverde

Movistar winners:
1981 Pedro Delgado (ESP) amatuer
1986 Miguel Indurain (ESP) Reynolds
1994 Melchor Mauri (ESP) Banesto
2007 Alejandro Valverde (ESP) Caisse d’Epargne
2008 Alejandro Valverde (ESP) Caisse d’Epargne
2012 Nairo Quintana (COL) Movistar



One Response to Vuelta a Murcia 2012

  1. Pingback: Welcome to Movistar Team Cycling in English! |

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s