Movistar April Victories 2011

Vuelta al País Vasco stage 2 April 5th

Vasli attacks for stage victory!

Belarusian rider Vasil Kiryienka attacked inside the final two kilometres of today’s second stage of the Vuelta al Pais Vasco, surging clear on the descent to the line and then soloing to victory. Vasil Kirienka won his first stage for The Team Movistar  when he reached the line two seconds clear of a large group of the race favourites, which was led home by Andreas Klöden (Team RadioShack), Andy Schleck (Leopard Trek), Chris Anker Sorensen (Saxo Bank SunGard) and last year’s race winner, Chris Horner (Team RadioShack). “I had spent two years without a win,” Vasili winner said. “It was about time for me after so much work for the team, to whom I want to thank for this victory. I was really close to home [he lives in Pamplona – ed.] and I’m used to these roads during my training rides, so I knew the route to perfection.“The Movistar Team has four riders at a very high level in this race and that always makes winning easier…we knew how to deal with that advantage. We don’t have a strong leader this season and we have to take chances.”

1 Vasil Kiryienka (Movistar) 04:06:39
2 Andréas Klöden (RadioShack) 00:00:02
3 Andy Schleck (Leopard-Trek) s.t.
4 Chris Anker Sorensen (Saxo Bank-Sungard) s.t.
5 Chris Horner (RadioShack) s.t.

Stage 1: Medina de Rioseco – Palencia 179.4km

Ventoso victorious in Palencia!

April 13

Francisco Ventoso sprinted to stage one victory in the Vuelta a Castilla y Leon, topping Manuel Belletti and Marko Kump in the field sprint finale.

“You might say Castilla y León is my ‘talisman race’,” said Ventoso. “This is my 5th stage victory in this tour and it seems like I’m really suited to it.

“In the final straight, I made the sprint a bit too long because the wind was blowing in our face. The sprinter from Sky had to launch it from really far because he had no teammates, and I was forced to start it alongside him.

“Now it’s time to enjoy the success, which I want to dedicate to my teammates as usual. They were perfect again. We have to think about tomorrow. I already won in Salamanca in 2007, it’s a slightly uphill sprint that suits me well.”


Francisco José Ventoso (Spa) Movistar Team



Manuel Belletti (Ita) Colnago – CSF Inox


Marko Kump (Slo) Geox-TMC


Luke Roberts (Aus) Saxo Bank Sungard


Russell Downing (GBr) Sky Procycling


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s